Adam's Lair Forum

game development and casual madness
It is currently 2017/03/24, 10:14

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

PostPosted: 2017/02/09, 20:24 

Role: Hobbyist
Hi, I'm new to Duality, and I must say it: The workflow is amazing! Really. The best I've ever seen, at least for 2D and C#.
Given how it works, I think soon I'll be able to contribute something ;)

Said that, I have a question. How can I detect if a sprite is overlapping another sprite (using parallax).
Gfycat Video - Click to Play. [Source]

I want/need to detect when the player is overlaping the black sprite, but I just don't know where to start.

I'm using rigid bodies, but given the parallax distance and the fact that the player must be able to pass through the black sprite I'm not sure if I can use that.

If anyone can help I'll be very grateful.

Last edited by YMR on 2017/02/10, 19:37, edited 2 times in total.

PostPosted: 2017/02/09, 21:39 
Forum Addict
Forum Addict

Hello there, welcome to the forum! :mrgreen:

First of all, nice gif! it already has me intrigued.

For your question, maybe you could play with the GameObject hierarchy and add a child GameObject to your black sprite, which sits at the same Z as the player (to avoid the parallax issue - although it could introduce other side effects if you were to interact with it near the edges of the screen and, as you said, the parallax distance is significant) and that contains a RigidBody sensor, to detect when the player enters or leaves it.

Hope what I said is understandable :)

Good luck with your endeavors!

PostPosted: 2017/02/09, 22:58 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Role: Professional
Hey there and welcome!

Given the parallax effect in your situation, you might have to roll a custom solution to detect overlaps in this case. What Duality can do for you is transform coordinates from world into screen space: Just ask the Camera that is rendering the scene:

Code:
Camera mainCam = this.GameObj.ParentScene.FindComponent<Camera>();