Adam's Lair Forum

game development and casual madness
It is currently 2020/02/25, 04:11

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: A published game problem
PostPosted: 2015/03/23, 19:14 
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

Joined: 2015/02/12, 15:27
Posts: 104
Location: Lithuania
Role: Hobbyist
So, I made an early version of my game and decided to send it to some friends. I sent 2 copies and none of them worked fine. The first friend experienced some visual artifacts, and the game looked like this: Image. This is REALLY not okay. The font is not displayed, and as you can see sprites are screwed up completely. The audio also works partially. What is more, the average FPS was somewhere around 1000, which is definitely not okay. This made all the things to move very slow.

My second friend couldn't even get the game to run in fullscreen, no matter what setting I set, it was always some tiny window at the top of the screen. Most of the problems described above also remained.

Any thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2015/03/23, 19:54 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 2013/05/11, 22:30
Posts: 2073
Location: Germany
Role: Professional
I've never experienced those errors, so I can't really say for sure what's happening. First of all, it would be very helpful to get the full logfile.txt contents of both of those friends and then get a list of which issues are present on which machine.

Deviver wrote:
What is more, the average FPS was somewhere around 1000, which is definitely not okay. This made all the things to move very slow.


How fast the game is running (FPS) should be entirely independent from how fast game time progresses (enemy movement). To do this, you should multiply velocities by Time.TimeMult, which will automatically counter varying FPS values.

In order to cap FPS at a solid 60 (and also prevent tearing artifacts), consider setting the syncing mode to VSync in the Default User Data settings.

_________________
Blog | GitHub | Twitter (@Adams_Lair)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2015/03/23, 20:48 
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
User avatar

Joined: 2013/09/19, 14:31
Posts: 883
Location: Italy
Role: Hobbyist
Deviver wrote:
The font is not displayed

That is because you used a font that you have installed in your system, but your friends do not.
To solve this, do not use New > Graphic > Font, but drag the font file directly in the Project view; this way the font will be copied along your other files when you deploy the game.

For the rest of your issues, I wouldn't know :S maybe something in your friends' hardware configuration?

_________________
Come on Duality's Discord channel. We have cookies! :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2015/03/23, 21:21 
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

Joined: 2015/02/12, 15:27
Posts: 104
Location: Lithuania
Role: Hobbyist
About the logfiles, I'm 100% sure they are perfectly fine, I have only this one now. His game runs fine in fullscreen but with all those artifacts and no sounds at all.


Adam wrote:
To do this, you should multiply velocities by Time.TimeMult, which will automatically counter varying FPS values.


All the movement in the game is physics based.

Adam wrote:
In order to cap FPS at a solid 60 (and also prevent tearing artifacts), consider setting the syncing mode to VSync in the Default User Data settings.


Tried different VSync settings, no luck.

SirePi wrote:
To solve this, do not use New > Graphic > Font, but drag the font file directly in the Project view;


That's how I did it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2015/03/23, 22:00 
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
User avatar

Joined: 2013/09/19, 14:31
Posts: 883
Location: Italy
Role: Hobbyist
Any chance to see the packaged game? Maybe that will give us some hints..

_________________
Come on Duality's Discord channel. We have cookies! :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2015/03/23, 22:05 
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

Joined: 2015/02/12, 15:27
Posts: 104
Location: Lithuania
Role: Hobbyist
Click


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2015/03/23, 22:14 
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
User avatar

Joined: 2013/09/19, 14:31
Posts: 883
Location: Italy
Role: Hobbyist
Deviver wrote:

huuuu.. looks fine to me :troubled: and the sound effect appear correct (some old style *pew pew*), also the gameplay appears correct.. maybe a little too sensitive but definitely playable.

I don't know what to say :troubled:

_________________
Come on Duality's Discord channel. We have cookies! :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2015/03/23, 22:19 
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

Joined: 2015/02/12, 15:27
Posts: 104
Location: Lithuania
Role: Hobbyist
Could you please post a screenshot of what you see?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2015/03/23, 22:33 
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
User avatar

Joined: 2013/09/19, 14:31
Posts: 883
Location: Italy
Role: Hobbyist
Sorry for butchering the game but my laptop's resolution is too small so I had to make it work in Windowed mode or I couldn't take the screenshots :mrgreen:

(oh, I know there is the health bar and other stuffs below.. again, it's because I had to use a smaller resolution)

This is at start
Image

and playing
Image

_________________
Come on Duality's Discord channel. We have cookies! :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2015/03/23, 22:37 
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

Joined: 2015/02/12, 15:27
Posts: 104
Location: Lithuania
Role: Hobbyist
Looks fine, then it must be a hardware problem, or maybe a screwed up Windows installation(just my personal guess)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group