Adam's Lair Forum
https://forum.adamslair.net:80/

Odd window size behaviour
https://forum.adamslair.net:80/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1236
Page 1 of 1

Author:  gregnk [ 2018/06/29, 02:03 ]
Post subject:  Odd window size behaviour

So I have the game set a resolution of 800x600, but for whatever reason the window changes size when it's set to fixed:

Window
Image

FixedWindow
Image

Is this a bug or just how the OS handles it?

Author:  SirePi [ 2018/06/29, 07:18 ]
Post subject:  Re: Odd window size behaviour

Are you using the latest version of Duality or an older one? I'm asking because I encountered a weird behavior with window sizing and Windows 10, but it was fixed in a patch some time ago.

Alternatively, do you have any code that alters the window size? Any chance you set 800x600 in the editor, but you have an older UserData.dat file with different sizes?

Author:  gregnk [ 2018/06/29, 08:55 ]
Post subject:  Re: Odd window size behaviour

I am on the latest version of duality, and I don't have the window size defined anywhere else in the game.

Author:  SirePi [ 2018/06/29, 15:57 ]
Post subject:  Re: Odd window size behaviour

Ok, just to be sure, can you check the values of gfxHeight and gfxWidth inside your UserData.dat file? (same directory as your game)

Author:  Adam [ 2018/06/29, 20:00 ]
Post subject:  Re: Odd window size behaviour

This could be a bug, looks a bit like the window border counts towards the specified size, when in fact only the client area should. If you are changing window settings at runtime, this might also be a factor. Feel free to file an issue on this and we'll look into it - make sure to include source code, if the repro case requires any!

If you're starting a new project, or are still in the very beginning, you could also look into the v3.0, which offers a different way to lock your game at a fixed resolution, while at the same time allowing free window resizing. In the application settings, you can now set a virtual resolution, which will be emulated regardless of window or screen size, both in the editor and the runtime.

Author:  gregnk [ 2018/06/30, 01:57 ]
Post subject:  Re: Odd window size behaviour

Thanks, using ForcedRenderSize does work in v3 and I'm trying to figure out a workaround for v2.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/